Student Absence Line: 01666 829759

t f y

Student Absence Line: 01666 829759

D61 1586 D60 9506 D60 9407 IFS pic DV1596 001

The Governors

Governors » The Governors

Malmesbury School Local Governing Body




Term expires

Tony Corscadden




Kath Darby

Co opted

1/10/15 (re-elected)


Justin Davies




Tim Gilson




Claire Graves (Chair)

Co opted



Deborah Gray

Co opted

1/9/17 (re-elected)


Rachael Jenkins




Tamsyn Luggar




Sharon Millar

Co opted

10/10/16 (re-elected)


Sue Poolman

Co opted

10/10/16 (re-elected)


Jennifer Rowe




Hayley Twist




Mark White

Co opted

11/10/18 (re-elected)


Ruth Whitehouse (Vice)





Governors' Pen Portraits 

Tony Corscadden – Parent Governor

Tony was elected to the Governing Body in July 2018. After graduating from Reading University with a degree in Food Technology, he has spent 30 years working in the food industry, of which 20 were as a company director. All four of his children have attended the school, with one now remaining. He is keen to make a contribution back to the school by applying his experiences in the business world to the Governing process. 


Kath Darby – Co-opted Governor

Kath joined the Governing Body in December 2007 as a Community Governor. She has spent over forty years working in Higher and Secondary education which includes twelve years as Headteacher of a large Comprehensive school and seven years as an Educational Consultant. She has worked at National level with Headteachers’ Associations and Government departments. She has previously served on the Governing Bodies of five Comprehensive schools. Kath is also a Trustee on the Athelstan Trust Board.


Justin Davies – Parent Governor

Justin was elected to the Governing Body in July 2018. He and his wife have lived in Malmesbury since 2008 and they have a daughter in Malmesbury School.  Justin heads up the Europe and Middle Eastern arm of a global managed services company working within the re/insurance industry.


Tim Gilson – Headteacher

Tim joined the Governing Body on his appointment in September 2008.


Claire Graves – Co-opted Governor (Chair of Governors)

Claire joined the Governing Body in 2016 and has a daughter at Malmesbury School. Claire obtained a degree and PhD in Geography before joining the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) to support academic research and postgraduate skills and training across the UK. Her aim is to encourage and enable equal opportunities to engage in STEM subject opportunities. She is currently working within UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) as Associate Director for Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Councils UK. Claire is also a qualified Karate instructor and former member of the AMA England Karate Team. Claire Graves was elected Chair of Governors on 11th October 2018.


Deborah Gray – Co-opted Governor

Deborah joined the Governing Body in September 2000 and she served as Chair of Governors from 2004 until 2018. Both her children attended Malmesbury School, where they did extremely well academically and enjoyed a wide range of extra-curricular activities. Her son went to Bournemouth University and her daughter, went to Kings College London. Deborah works part-time as a freelance non-fiction book editor/writer and enjoys gardening, yoga, literature, live music and theatre in her spare time.


Rachael Jenkins – Co-opted Governor

Rachael joined the Governing Body in February 2018. She has two children at Malmesbury School. Previously she spent 8 years as a primary school governor with 4 of these in the role of Chair of Governors.  Rachael has a degree in Environmental Science and has worked in both this field and Sales and Marketing.  With a passion for dinghy sailing and racing, Rachael runs the youth section of a local sailing club as a volunteer.


Tamsyn Luggar – Parent Governor

Tamsyn was elected to the Governing Body in July 2018. She has two children - one at primary school and one at Malmesbury School.  She has been a School Governor since 2012, initially at Lea and Garsdon Primary School and then at Westonbirt School.  Tamsyn has a degree in Geography and qualified as a Chartered Mineral and Waste Surveyor, with a particular interest in the planning and development of facilities.  She is also the Assistant Group Scout Leader for the 1st Crudwell Scout Group.


Sharon Millar – Co-opted Governor

Sharon joined the Governing Body in 2008, having just moved to the area from Northern Ireland where she worked as 6th Form Study Manager with one of the Province’s leading Grammar Schools. She now lives and works in Malmesbury running her own Recruitment and Management Consultancy business. She has until recently been a Childline Volunteer involving support for children in long term residential or foster care. She has three sons, one of whom attended Malmesbury School and a stepson who attended the school. 


Sue Poolman– Co-opted Governor

Sue joined the Governing Body in 2012. She practised as a solicitor in East London for over twenty years, specialising in Legally Aided Family and Criminal cases. After this she spent a decade living in Switzerland, where she took an active part at her daughters’ school. She moved to Malmesbury in 2009 and is now involved with various local organisations, including the Athelstan Museum, Carnival and Oxfam.


Jennifer Rowe – Staff Governor

Jennifer joined the Governing Body in 2018. She teaches Modern Foreign Languages at Malmesbury School.Jennifer is currently studying for a MSc in Psychology of Education at the University of Bristol, with a particular interest in cognitive neuroscience.


Hayley Twist – Staff Governor

Hayley joined the Governing Body in 2016. She teaches Science at Malmesbury School.


Mark White – Co-opted Governor

Mark joined the Governing Body in 2004 having previously been a governor at Brinkworth Earl Danby’s Primary School. Mark is link advisor for the Sixth Form. Both of his daughters attended the school. Mark has a degree in Aeronautical Engineering and previously served as a pilot in the Royal Air Force before joining British Airways where he is also involved in pilot recruitment. Interests include running, swimming, triathlons and gardening.


Ruth Whitehouse – Co-opted Governor (Vice Chair of Governors)

Ruth joined the Governing Body in 2012 and has three children who all attended Malmesbury School. She has a degree in Electrical & Electronic Engineering and currently works as a Senior Manager in IT Risk & Control at Nationwide Building Society in Swindon, having previously worked in IT management roles for several years.  Ruth is a qualified Secondary Science Teacher and has also been an advisor at the Citizen’s Advice Bureau


How to contact the Governors
Any of the governors can be contacted by writing to them at the school address or through the clerk to the Governors, currently Jo Cummings. Alternatively, emails can be directed to: